5 of my favorite books of childhood

I must confess that I have little time to read these days. So, I decided to make a post that harks back to a time when I did. If anyone has good book suggestions, please share.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass-Lewis Carroll

I’m sure you are familiar with the story. I loved it as a child and I love it as an adult. Sometimes, I find my self wishing I could fall down the rabbit hole, but then I remember that possible decapitation is part of the deal and I snap back to reality. Still, it’s fun to re read once in a while.

The 13 Clocks-James Thurber

I feel sorry for anyone who has not read this fabulously kooky take on fairy tales. Thurber’s prose is brilliant and the images that accompany the words are dazzling. Hopefully, Tim Burton will not decide to fuck it up and stay very far away from any celluloid translation that may or may not happen. Wes Anderson, on the other hand, has my full support.

The Phantom Tollbooth-Norton Juster

Don’t you love books that teach you something, but you don’t realize it? This is the ultimate example of that. I learned more about grammar from reading this book than my fourth grade career. Did we ever figure out if numbers or letters were more important? Meh.

Princess Smartypants- Babette Cole

She doesn’t want to get married. She just wants to hang out and have fun with her pets. Judging by some of her suitors, can’t say that I blame her. Remember parents, it is never too early to introduce your children to the idea of female independence. Also it makes a great nickname for your smart ass daughters (I know my dad loved it).

The Dumb Bunnies collection- Sue Denim and Dav Pilkey

Who doesn’t want to read about the adventures of a family of really dumb rabbits? The maturity level is low, but humor is great!

 

I miss my child hood. Being an adult sucks (well some parts are fun).

3 thoughts on “5 of my favorite books of childhood

Leave a Reply

